I am 8 years free from self-harm 🙂

Slay Girl Society

Hi everyone! Today is Self Injury Awareness Day, so I thought it would be the perfect time to publish my first piece on self-harming. I think it is extremely important to discuss because it is very common yet there is such a huge taboo and stigma around talking about it. Even MORE so than talking about other aspects of mental illness. A very kind mental health advocate named Jessica Remter from the blog Flight of Recovery Flight of Recovery agreed to write about her own experiences. I am so grateful that she was so open and honest. It is a very powerful story. Let us know what you think in the comments below!

Nine years ago I started self-harming. Three years ago I quit.

When I was thirteen years old, life wasn’t too bad- at least that’s how it looked from the outside. I’m not sure what planted the…

View original post 779 more words

