Slay Girl Society

Today’s blog post is from another guest contributor. She is the writer at themuslimhippie, which discusses the intersection of race, culture and mental illness. I’m so excited because she has agreed to write a series of posts about her experiences with mental illness. Here is her first! Let us know what you think in the comments below. 

I’d like to begin by stating that I was thrilled and humbled to be asked to write for Slay Girl Society.  I’m new to blogging and happy that my posts resonate with those in the mental health community. Today I want to talk about my experience being a mom living with mental illness in a Muslim community. It’s hard enough living with a bipolar I disorder. Harder yet when you’re a parent and spouse. And it’s even more complicated when you’re part of a tight-knit religious community. I’ll start my story here: When I…

View original post 1,128 more words

